Surprise! Part 14

It had been two months since I last saw James during Christmas break, if you missed it, read Baby Steps: Part 13 to get caught up on what we did for Christmas/New Years!  Our next trip that we had planned wasn’t until my spring break…but that was too far away, so I had a plan.

I have always wanted to surprise him by flying in to visit, and with him out of school now, and my swim season over, it was the perfect time to do it.  I bought the tickets in January to fly in the last weekend of February.  I found out that that is a very long time to keep a secret.  After much planning and secret keeping, I finally came up with a seamless plan.  My grandparents, who live in PA, picked me up from the airport on a Friday night and I told James that they wanted to meet him for dinner that night.

So after work, he drove to the restaurant to meet them.  I was hiding in the bathroom and once he got there I came up behind him and pretended to be a waitress, asking if he wanted anything else to drink.  He turned and looked at me and shook his head, saying, “No thanks, I’m good.”  fullsizerender-3He turned back around, and after a second he whipped back around with his jaw and eyes wide open.  “What are you doing here?” He jumped up and gave me a huge hug.  All I could do was smile, the excitement for this moment was killing me and it finally happened.

“What?  How are you here?  Are you kidding me?  How long are you here for?”  The smiles on our faces showed the relief of finally getting to be with each other.  Almost two months is two months too long.

“I’m here until Monday morning!” I said through my smile.

img_7699“Oh my gosh.”  He was in shock, and remained that way for most of the dinner.  After dinner with my grandparents, James and I drove back to the house he was living at. That night we caught up on cuddling and watched movies.

On Saturday, we packed in as many dates as we could to make up for lost time.  We went out to breakfast at our favorite waffle place in town and walked around until it was time for him to go flying.  I think I have mentioned before that he is in flight school, training to be a pilot.  I was so excited that I go flying with him again since the last time I did was about two years ago.  Later that day we went out to dinner then he took me to the movies.  We managed to get four dates into one day.

The weekend went by way too fast, but I will get to see him in nine days when we both fly to my house in Florida for spring break.  Nine days apart is nothing. fullsizerender-4

One comment

Leave a Reply

