Of surprise dates and drive-ins: Part 5

I went to visit James two times over the summer of 2014.  He came to Florida at the beginning of that summer, then I went to his house in Pennsylvania a few weeks later, and then we planned this trip.  This last trip was somewhat spontaneous.  We hadn’t originally planned it, but after I left his house the first time that summer, we both decided that we needed to see each other one more time before the summer ended, so with that, we bought another plane ticket.

¨¨¨

While I was there, he planned a surprise date night…

“Baby girl, you almost ready?”  He finished ironing his button down shirt, and I saw him grab his backpack and a few things and put them in the back of the Jeep.

“Yeah, I don’t need anything other than that change of clothes right?”  I put on my necklace and pulled my hair to one side over my shoulder.  I was wearing a short light pink dress with a rope belt around my waist.

“Yeah, that’s all you need.  Damn babe, you look absolutely gorgeous,” he said, as I walked out to the family room.  He was wearing fitted black pants with a white button down shirt with the sleeves rolled up, showing off his muscular forearms, and a light purple and navy stripped tie of his that I picked out to go with my dress.

“Well don’t you look sexy,” I grabbed my lip-gloss and put a little on.  “Ok, I am ready to go to wherever you are taking me.”

“Alright then, let’s go baby doll.”  He opened the front door for me and we drove for about forty-five minutes.

“Where are we going?” I said, excitedly looking over at him.  We were driving up a winding mountain with a stonewall lining the road.  It was so pretty up here.

“We are almost there!”

“This surprise is killing me.”

A few minutes later we pulled up to a quaint Italian restaurant.

“Ok, we are here!  Follow me, I want to show you something.”  He took my hand and we walked across the street to a look out deck.

“What is this?  The view is so pretty!” I looked over at him smiling.

“This my dear, is the Johnstown Incline.  It is the steepest incline in the world.”

“What?  You’re so cute!  This is so cool babe!”  We stood and looked at the breath taking view for a few minutes.  “Let’s get someone to take our picture.  This would be the coolest background.”

We got a picture and walked around until it was time for our reservation at the restaurant.

IMG_7999 (1)

“I hope they were able to get me the table I wanted.”

“What table did you want?”

“Well, there are some that are right next to a big window that over look the incline, so I asked for one of those.”

“Aw, you thought of everything!”

“Well it’s for my baby girl so of course I did.”  We walked up to the hostess stand.

“Hello, did you guys have reservations?”  The hostess asked.

“Yes we did, it’s under James.”

“James party of two?”

“That would be us!”

“Ok, right this way.”  She led us to our table right by a huge window that over looked the town below and the mountains stretching across the sky.

“Thank you very much,” he walked over and pulled out my seat for me.

“Aw, such a gentleman.”

“Well, I’d like to think I can act classy occasionally,” he smiled at me and sat down. It was so nice getting to be out with him.

We talked all dinner and both ordered the same thing, Chicken Parmesan, one of our favorite dishes.

“This is perfect baby.  Thank you so much for doing all of this.”

“Of course!  I love being able to take my girl out when I can! And this is only half of the date,” he smiled at me.

“You’re sneaky,” I laughed.

We finished up dinner and by the time we were done it was time to head to our next destination, wherever that was.

IMG_9066

(This was taken outside of the restaurant.)

¨¨¨

“Here it is,” he said, as we pulled into a drive way that lead to an open field.  I looked around trying to figure out where we were, when I saw a sign that said “Movies,” and I saw cars pulling in and parking in rows in front of a big white screen.

“Is this a drive in movie?” I screamed with excitement! “Babe! I’ve never been to one of these and I have always wanted to go to one!”

“Yes it is baby, and I know you haven’t been to one which is why I thought it was the perfect place to go!”

“Ah! Oh, my, gosh! I am so freaking excited!”  I jumped up and down in my seat as we pulled to the ticket booth and drove around trying to find the perfect spot.  We went towards the back a little so we could be alone and reversed into the spot.

“This is perfect!”  He got out of the car and put the back seats down.

“Oh, this is why we had to clean out the Jeep earlier.  When did you put pillows and blankets in the back?”

“While you were getting ready.”

“You really did think of everything!”  He pulled water bottles and candy out of his backpack.

“Hm, I’m glad you’re excited!  Ok, you can change in the back, we have like twenty minutes until the movie starts.”  He had told me ahead of time to bring a change of comfy clothes.  I climbed over the front seat and changed into a tight grey tank top and my black leggings.  I knocked on the back window when I was done and he opened the trunk door for me.

“Damn.  You look good.”

My hair fell over my shoulder in the front, so I tucked it behind my ear.  I smiled at him and gave him a kiss as I was sitting on the edge of the Jeep.

“Ok, you’re turn!”  When he was done changing, I opened up the back so we could see the screen and I crawled in the bed of the Jeep next to him.  It was actually really comfortable.  He laid out a comforter then propped pillows up against the seats that were folded over.  It was the perfect set up for a perfect night with my perfect man.

“Thank you so much for everything tonight babe, this really is the best surprise date.”

“You are very welcome baby.  I’m so glad you liked it.”

Cuddling with him in the back of a Jeep, with the night sky surrounding us, and a movie projecting on a big screen was so romantic.  It felt so old fashioned and country like.  His arm was wrapped around me, resting on my waist, and I was nestled up next to him with my head on his chest.  He would occasionally look down at me, put his hand under my chin to tilt my head up, and kiss me.  I could stay in this moment forever, and be the happiest girl alive.

IMG_8067

(I took this picture from inside the back of his jeep, this date is still to this day one of my favorites.)

12 comments

Leave a Reply

